Rimmel Lasting Finish Colour Rush Lip Balms: Drive me nude, Give me a cuddle, The redder the better

The Rimmel Lasting Finish Colour Rush Lip Balms have been out on the market for a while, but being in Singapore, it’s difficult to get my hands on Rimmel products. I got them a few months back and recently have really grown to like them.
The 3 colours that I got are in drive me nude, give me a cuddle and the redder the better.
From L to R: Drive me nude, Give me a cuddle, The redder the better
Something that I have noticed about these lip balms are their smell. When I first opened it, I kid you not, it smells like vanilla butter. They smell so delicious! The smell always gets to me when I use it. The best part is that it applies real smooth and creamy like butter as well. I love how it glides over your lips easily, even in early mornings when your lips are chapped. However, this is not a lip balm that will really help with moisturising in my opinion. It works better giving your lips a little bit of colour, for days when you need to look more alive.
The packaging of the product is similar to the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm stains, with silver letterings and a “screw out” design. I do think that the colours on the packaging quite accurately reflects on the colour of the product inside it.
It is a little sticky on your lips after application, but that stickiness goes away after a while. In terms of staying power, I feel like these colour balms do not really last as long as they are made out to be. After just some light snacking, I feel like the colour disappears and reapplication is needed. This is especially true for lighter colours such as drive me nude.
From L to R: Swatches of Drive me nude, Give me a Cuddle and The redder the better, heavily swatched on the top and blended out at the bottom.
Personally, drive me nude is a colour that I really like to use on an everyday basis. It is the most forgiving colour and low maintenance in comparison to the other colours. Give me a cuddle is great if you need to add a little more life into your face, especially good for a dull day. The redder the better is just a perfect red for people who are just beginning to wear red lips (such as me). It is relatively low maintenance compared to a lipstick and I would say that it is one of my favourite red lip products currently. It is just a beautiful colour that I think would suit many skin shades.
As the name suggests, it works better as a pigmented lip balm as compared to a lipstain. I say this because in comparison to a product such as the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm stains, this product isn’t nearly as long lasting. In terms of staying power, the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain definitely wins as well. However, I find the Rimmel lasting finish colour rush lip balm more moisturising on the lips and it smells really good. I also think that the Rimmel Lip Balm applies smoother – you can simply apply it to the lips without another lip balm before hand (which I tend to do for the Revlon Kissable Balm Stain).
Overall, I think this is a great product to add to your collection, especially if you like jumbo lip crayons like me!
Leave a Reply

