Craft with me: First try at a one layer card

I love crafting. But since I’m in the midst of moving, I haven’t had time to write a blog post- until now that is.

I’ve always seen crafters on Youtube creating one layer cards. Of course, I wanted to try it for myself. However, the problem was that I didn’t have many ink pads, and I gravitated towards bright and happy colours.

My chance came when there was a sale at a local art store and I took the opportunity to snatch up some new mini ink pads from Tim Holtz and Heroarts. I have bought mini ink pads before and know that they will last me for a long time. After all, I’m just an average crafter and the amount of cards I make can’t compare to a professional crafter.

This is the one layer card I’ve created with some of the supplies i’ve managed to pick up during the sale.

Photo 25-6-14 3 41 18 pm


The supplies used for this card are: Photo 25-6-14 3 40 25 pm

1. Prima chalk inks in the colours Garden Grass, Rusty Keys and Vintage Pink
2. Tim Holtz mini distress ink pads in Mustard Seed and Pickled Raspberry
3. Momento Tuxedo Black Ink
4. Hero arts mini ink pads in Pale Tomato and Soft Pool
5. The Alley Way Stamp True Colors stamp set
6. Lawn Fawn Milo’s ABCs Stamp set

So far, I’m really loving the alley way stamp’s true colors stamp set.
It just helps to create a flawless paintbrush stroke without the risk of messing a card up.
I can see it being extremely useful in art journalling as well – it’s really tempting me to get started on a art journal.

I think I need more practice with one layer stamping, but after this experience, I must say – one layer cards may just be my new crafting inspiration.
I was wrong about needing a lot of stamp sets, I created this card with only 2!
If you are a new stamper, try getting the mini ink pads and play around with stamp sets you already have. Who knows, you might get a pleasant surprise like me!

Leave a Reply

