Craft with me: Simple thank you card

A few days back I received a parcel of an order I made long ago.
It sort of feels nice to forget a parcel, then receive it. It’s as though you prepared a surprise for yourself.
Anyway,  it was an order containing some avery elle stamp sets.

I was super excited to receive it because I was running dry on card ideas.
So I decided to try making a simple card using 2 of the stamp sets I received.

Photo 10-9-14 9 40 38 pm

These 2 sets are called Avery’s alphas and Woodgrains and more.
This is also the first background/border stamp I’ve ever ordered, so I just really wanted to try it out.

Photo 10-9-14 9 42 13 pm

This card is really simple to make. 
I just stamped the background using some colorbox pigment ink in the colour chestnut brown, and found a piece of patterned paper to attach to the front of the card.
Since the patterned paper was rather busy, I decided to just keep it simple and add 2 black strips to let it stand out from the card base.
Then, I just stamped the sentiments on the edge of the card.
I rather like how simplistic yet cheerful this card looks – it’ll work for males or females.

Photo 10-9-14 9 41 58 pmOne thing – I really enjoy these bold alphabets from Avery Elle.
If you have ever used Lawn Fawn’s stamps, they’re similar to those because the alphabets come on a rectangle which you can easily line up to get a straight sentiment.

There’s one more stamp set from Lawn Fawn that I’ve yet to try out – so keep a look out for a post on that soon!

 

2 thoughts on “Craft with me: Simple thank you card

Leave a Reply

