Nail art: My first attempt (Halloween nails)

A few days ago, I received an email from Julep about their Halloween Nail Art Contest.
It sounded interesting, and even though I have no prior experience with doing nail art, I decided to give it a go!

Photo 25-10-14 11 44 36 am

I thought about it for a while, and decided eventually that I should go with something simple since it’s my first try with nail art.
So I picked up 3 main colours- yellow, navy and black.
The polishes are Need Sunglasses? and Incognito in Sausalito from OPI, and Colour 46 from Rainbow Enamel.

After some time of thinking, I settled on my design – which revolved around black cats.
When I think of halloween, I can’t help but think of black cats.
So I tried drawing a black cat on my middle finger, some paw prints on my thumb and pinky and a silhouette of fences against a bright full moon.
Not the best nail art around, but I’m pretty happy with how they turned out given it’s my first attempt.
Somehow the cat reminds me of toothless from ‘how to train your dragon’ as well (my favourite animated movie ever).

Photo 24-10-14 11 50 22 pm

Photo 24-10-14 11 54 09 pm

A few tips for fellow first-timers:
1. Wait for each coat of polish to dry thoroughly.
2. Be gentle when attempting to draw.
3. Go slow.
4. Use a toothpick if you don’t have dotting tools. (use both sides of the toothpick to get varying sizes!)
5. Look at reference pictures!

Talking about black cats, I have an interesting story.
Before I moved house, there was a resident black cat around my block, and it was the most adorable little thing ever.
I used to feed it, and one night it snuck into my apartment and started purring in the middle of the night near my mother’s bedroom door.
It scared her so badly and she’s still wondering why the cat followed her home till today.
Now, my grandmother is the one that feeds it, and it waits outside her place.
Never fails to make me laugh when I think about it.

My inspiration for my design came from Julep:
HalloweenNailLook

For all of you out there, do give halloween nail art a go.
I’m pretty sure you’ll do even better than me, given the fact that I’m a first timer.
Sometimes I wish halloween was a bigger thing here in Singapore, because that’ll be pretty damn awesome.

Julep’s polishes can be found here: http://www.julep.com/shop/nail-polish.html

If Julep’s present in Singapore, I’ll probably pick up the shades Briana, Claudette, Deann and Florence! Briana, Catrina and Cleopatra looks real similar to the colours I used.
If you own Julep polishes, do share with me your experience, I’ll love to hear from you.
Have a great halloween all!

2 thoughts on “Nail art: My first attempt (Halloween nails)

Leave a Reply

