2014 Beauty Favourites

This post comes a little late, but better late than never I thought.
2014 passed really quickly for me, it’s rather unbelievable.
I went on to university, and started to adapt in a new environment.
And at the same time – I’ve got to try a lot of new makeup products.
I thought of doing this post to see what makeup products I truly adore, and cut down on the amount of money spent on unused makeup in this new year.

Photo 5-1-15 3 44 53 pm

Let’s start off with face brushes. By face brushes, I’m referring to just foundation and concealer brushes this time round.

Photo 5-1-15 3 33 13 pm

My favourite foundation brushes would definitely be the Sigma F80, Real techniques expert face brush and Zoeva’s Silk finish brush.
Amongst the 3, one thing I’ve noted is that Sigma and Zoeva brushes are a little more difficult to clean.
They get stained by foundations over long time use. I’ve been using the ELF brush shampoo, but it doesn’t work well for them.
The solution to my ‘stained brush’ problem is a $2 soap from Daiso I found, called the ‘Detergent for puff and sponge’. Honestly, this is one of my makeup wins in 2015 so far!

Photo 5-1-15 7 16 54 pm

For concealer brushes, my favourites are the Real Technique Duo Fibre contour brush, Zoeva’s face shape brush and Zoeva’s concealer brush.
You might be wondering why a contour brush is my favourite to use for concealer, but try it and you’ll see why.
This brush blends undereye concealer like a dream!

If you would like a comparison of brushes, or a detailed post on Sigma, Zoeva or Real techniques brushes I own, do leave a comment!

Photo 5-1-15 3 34 17 pm

In terms of eyeshadow palettes, my most used palettes would be the Naked 1 and 3 palettes, as well as my Makeup Geek palette I made myself.
What I found strange was that I used my Naked palettes much more than my Lorac Pro, but the Lorac Pro was strongly recommended and went out of stock constantly.
This year, I’ll make sure I use my Lorac Pro palette more often.

Photo 5-1-15 3 35 38 pm

The mascara I absolutely love is Maybelline’s Rocket Mascara, while the eyeliner award goes to K-palette’s 24 Hours Real Tattoo Liner. I’m not sure if you can find K-palette where you live, but if you can get your hands on it, try it!

Photo 5-1-15 3 48 46 pm

Top used foundations would be my M.A.C face and body (for light coverage) and Covergirl’s 3-in-1 outlast foundation (for medium to full coverage).
Recently, I find myself just using foundation and concealer for my dark eye circles.
I really like this change, wearing less face makeup sometimes feels really good.

Photo 5-1-15 3 41 06 pm

With that being said, I still can’t leave out my concealers and powder.
For my dark eye circles, I really liked using my Clinique Air brush concealer.
For covering blemishes, Collection’s lasting perfection concealer is my go to.
The sad thing is, I can’t find collection products in Singapore anymore, so I think I might have to try to ship it over.
Having oily skin, setting with powder is a must. For this, I choose my M.A.C Pressed Powder.

Photo 5-1-15 3 39 45 pm

On to blushes, highlighters and bronzers!
Top used blushes are Bobbi Brown’s Apricot blush and Milani’s Luminaso. Both of these add a lovely glow to the skin without looking over the top.
My top used bronzer would be Benefit Cosmetic’s Hoola, and the top used highlighter award goes to theBalm’s Mary Lou Manizer. I even use this highlighter on my eyes!

Photo 5-1-15 3 38 13 pm

Last but not least, lip products.
To be honest, it was really difficult narrowing down my options. Eventually I stuck with these 4.
YSL’s lip stains in shade 7 and 15, Revlon’s Lipstick in Pink in the Afternoon and lastly, Giorgio Armani’s lipstick (Rouge d’Armani) in the shade 507.

That’s all for my 2014 favourites!
A rather long post, but thank you for reading it.

I hope 2015 will be a fruitful year for all of you – and continue to share your makeup loves with me! 🙂

2 thoughts on “2014 Beauty Favourites

  1. Hi…Better late than never and I STRONGLY agree 🙂 My 2014 favs post is yet to come.. 😀
    I have used RT brushes and I agree using contour brush as a concealer brush as i feel its shape is so good. Benefit HOOLA is a very good contouring powder though it is a bronzer! and Collection lasting perfection is my favorite of the bunch I tried! But I use it for under and around eye area.

    1. Agreed, the RT brush shape is perfect. I really like collection’s concealer as well, too bad it’s no longer available in Singapore. I’ve gotta find a way to get my hands on it. Good luck and have fun writing your 2014 favourites post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

