Craft with me: You’ll glide through life

It’s near the time for graduation for final year university students here.
I noticed some of my friends were job hunting, and were really stressed out by how competitive the market is.
Having some free time, I came up with this card, hoping to encourage a friend.

Photo 18-1-15 8 08 12 pm

What was special about the card to me was the fact that I used a christmas stamp set for a non-christmas card.
The stamp set’s called Arctic penguins, from mama elephant.
It’s an extremely cute set, and I can definitely see some non-christmas uses for it.

Photo 18-1-15 8 07 36 pm
The materials used are rather simple, listed here:
1. American Crafts Memory Black Marker
2. Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
3. White gel pen
4. Mama Elephant Stamp set – Arctic penguins
5. Tombo Mono Multi Glue
6. Crate Paper Flea Market Paper Pad (not in photo)

What I did was to first stamp the ice on a piece of blue paper I can find.
I had to use a paper pad, but blue cardstock would have worked fine if you had some.

Photo 18-1-15 7 21 40 pm

Next, I stamped the penguins. The penguins didn’t stamp well since it was the first time I was using them. I decided to just fix the problem, by colouring over them with the black markers instead of re-stamping.

Photo 18-1-15 7 28 48 pm Photo 18-1-15 7 29 59 pm
I think the black marker works pretty well, don’t you think?
Then, just cut the penguin and ice piece out!
I ended up defining the pieces with the marker by running it along the cut edges as well.

Photo 18-1-15 8 06 00 pm

You know the next steps – choose a pattern paper, and glue on the little penguin.
I drew some lines for the skates as well, since I cut down off.
The speech bubble was from an Amy Tangerine paper pad – I cut out one of the frames inside a pattern paper.
An alternative use for a speech bubble pattern paper.
Finally, I added some faux stitching using the same black marker and jotted on the sentiment.

I’m rather happy with the final product.
It was done spontaneously, but turned out really cute.
Life in Singapore is always about efficiency and being organised, but doing such projects really allow me to appreciate creativity.
I’m pretty sure whatever I’m studying in school now is unrelated to the passion I’m trying to find.
But I guess, just like the name of this card – I’ll glide through life, and hopefully find that flame in me.

And to whoever’s reading this, if you’re having a tough time, remember – it’ll be over someday. I wish for you to have a smooth journey in life as well.

Leave a Reply

